TWD- Nutty Swirly Chocolately Sour Cream Bundt Cake

January 25- Jennifer of Cooking for Comfort chose Nutty Swirly Chocolatey Sour Cream Bundt Cake on page 182 from Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

I have fond memories of childhood boxed cake mix bundt cakes.  I recall one having almost a pudding texture (for the filling).  I thought the surprise layer within a cake quite ingenious.  Back then, I would eat sugar from the bag so there was no such thing as too sweet or processed

So I have a few of techniques I use to make my bundt making as stress free as possible.  First, I butter and flour my silicone pan.  Overkill, perhaps but I have had cakes stick and then I am sad.  Second, I read a great technique over at RLB (Rose Levy Beranbaum’s) site that has you put a thin layer of the batter on with a spatula and then you smear the batter up the sides- this means you are much less likely to get air bubbles or leak through of your filling.  Third, since I use a silicone pan and it needs something underneath for stability and you are still chasing the heat to be distributed by the central core- I use a perforated pizza pan (from Bakers Secret).  Photo below shows what I am writing about.

I thought the double layer of swirl was asking for trouble so I stuck with one layer.  I intended to put in raisins but forgot and like it with just the chocolate nut mixture.  Perhaps a little too much sugar in the swirl (I have gotten over eating sugar from the bag after all).

The crumb of the cake is great and the orange in the cake and cinnamon in the swirl are there gently in the background.  All and all a winner.

Now go and check the TWD blogroll for the other bundt goodness.

3 responses to “TWD- Nutty Swirly Chocolately Sour Cream Bundt Cake

  1. I think you were smart to stick with one layer. It looks perfect. Delicious cake.

  2. All of your cool baking tricks resulted in a beautiful cake!

  3. Yes a real winner! It looks yummy! I loved it.

Leave a Reply

