TWD- Toasted Almond Scones

February 22, 2011 – Mike of Living Out West chose Toasted Almond Scones on pages 28 and 29 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

For me these aren’t ‘traditional’ scones.  I am not upset with the almond mix ins but the use of egg gives a more cake like texture than most scone doughs (I also think it helped the scones stay moist for an extra day or 2).

Overall these were nice.  Not amazing or life changing for my tastebuds but easy enough to eat with jam and whipped cream.

Now go and check the TWD blogroll and see what everyone else thought.

6 responses to “TWD- Toasted Almond Scones

  1. These didn’t knock my socks off either. Glad I baked them, though! Looks tasty!

  2. Whipped cream…that sounds yummy. I enjoyed them.

  3. They look wonderful – sorry they weren’t your cup of tea. 🙂 And interesting about the egg, I didn’t realize that. Oh well – adventures in baking! Thanks for baking right along with me!

  4. They look nice and fluffy in your photo! I happened to really enjoy them. Sorry they weren’t a winner for you!

  5. Bummer they didn’t quite do it for you. Oh well you can’t love all of the recipes! They sure look good!

  6. i didn’t even think about the egg in the dough. these weren’t fabulous to me so i’m with you. but they do look good!

Leave a Reply

