TWD- Basic Marbled Loaf Cake

May 3, 2011 – Carol from The Bake More chose Basic Marbled Loaf Cake on pages 230 and 231 of BFMHTY by Dorie Greenspan.  And what a nice choice it was.

I was going to make mini loaf cakes and then I remembered the train set silicone pan I recently bought for just $4.  Patrick made me promise to wash his train set before and after I used it for the cake photo.   “Cakes have crumbs mummy- that’s one of the ingredients.”

Well I didn’t add any extra crumbs to this one.  I did add some Reece’s peanut butter chips that I had ordered online.  Sadly they melted into one mega chip in transit so I had to cut it up to use it.

I liked the subtle hit of peanut butter I got from folding 1/4 cup of the chips through the chocolate part of the batter.

This cake was a little dry for me but that may have to do with the challenge of getting to know a new recipe and a new pan (and a deeply grumbly 8 week old who needed a nap but just couldn’t settle unless being held by me).  All in all ok but not amazing this go around.

Check out the TWD blogroll and see what others thought of the marbled cakes.

.

9 responses to “TWD- Basic Marbled Loaf Cake

  1. So cute! I love the train cake. And what a handsome little man! I’m sure that hint of peanut butter was tasty, too.

  2. Too bad it wasn’t what you were expecting, but I love the train… looks like your little guy did, too! 🙂 PB sounds lovely!

  3. Fun train!! What a great way to eat cake. I think this cake was easy to overbake. Mine was a little dry but a dollop of whip cream helped!

  4. The train cake is adorable. Kudos to you for baking with a grumpy little one (seems like just yesterday I was doing that, and now my tiny guy is 2 and wants to “help”).

  5. I’d like this with peanut butter! The train is just adorable. I don’t have kids so I’d feel silly buying a pan like that, but maybe I should get over that!

  6. Peanut butter and chocolate, nothing better. Thanks for baking with me this week. — Carol

  7. Ciao Andrea ! I love the little train ! And your flavours !

  8. choo choo..more like chew chew..I want some lol:))

    • I did consider writing “I choo-choo-choose you” (Ralph Wigam Valentine reference) for this one but thought maybe too awkward to get the tense right given my general state of mild sleep deprivation!

Leave a Reply

