TWD- Oatmeal Nutmeg Scones

May 24, 2011 – Patricia from Life With a Whisk chose Oatmeal Nutmeg Scones on page 30 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

In the Darwin heat I have learnt to cut my butter up into teaspoon size and then pop it into the freezer.  I then ‘rub in’ the butter using the food processor.  Otherwise I end up with a gloppy and tough mess.   I read some other TWD bakers ended up with a really sticky dough but mine was well behaved.

These come together quite quickly and the combination of raw sugar and nutmeg gives a subtle floral note.  My boys liked them both dipped in gravy with dinner and covered in jam and cream for dessert.

Now go and see what the other  TWD crew thought of them.

5 responses to “TWD- Oatmeal Nutmeg Scones

  1. Sounds like your boys are right on! These were delicious. Have a great day.

  2. They look great and Im glad your boys enjoyed them. I really love the oatmeal in them..so yummy!!

  3. good for dinner and dessert– perfect!

  4. I sometimes use the food processor to cut in butter but I didn’t this week. Mine were a little flat but tasted good. I added dried apple to mine.

Leave a Reply

