TWD- Caramel Pot de Creme

May 31, 2011 – Peggy from Peggy the Baker chose Caramel Pots de Creme from page 388-389 of BFMHTY by Dorie Greenspan.

It’s sad that I am so attached to Sherrie Yards method of making caramel  that I had to psych myself up to do it any other way.  Happily it worked well and because there is less liquid the caramel happens much more quickly than the slow and steady pot on top way.  Dorie’s method of making the caramel 2 tablespoons at a time works better for small batches.

I baked my little custards in a deep frypan with an oven proof lid.  Easy as.

I made half as per the recipe and to the other other half I added salt flakes.  The salted caramel pots de creme were amazing.  I considered the coffee version but I wanted to be able to share it with my children.  I am happy for them to have things with a hint of coffee but am trying to hold off the time that they become coffee dependant to start the day!

I liked these a lot.  The men (and boys) in my life thought the caramel was too dominant.  They were perfect for me I think Matthew is such a baked custard purist that anything other than a hint of vanilla is too much fiddling around for him.

So, now check out the TWD blogroll and see what the others thought.

2 responses to “TWD- Caramel Pot de Creme

  1. Love the idea of salt! My husband is lobbying hard for the coffee version so I see myself making these in the future! Thanks for baking with me this week.

  2. Cool idea on the salt flakes! Yum. I enjoyed them, super rich.

Leave a Reply

