TWD- Date-Nut Loaf

June 21 – Mary of Popsicles and Sandy Feet chose Date-Nut Loaf on page 228 of BFMHTY by Dorie Greenspan.

I wrote my post for this last night and programmed it to publish at midnight, somehow it disappeared.  How very very odd!  Moving on (and repeating myself).

This is a simple loaf with a surprise ingredient of cream cheese.  I didn’t taste it and I am not sure if it added anything special.  Given the long bake time, I think this ended up a touch dry.  I would bake it a touch less next time.  I liked the date throughout.  I read someone else thought of them as almost chocolate like and I agree.

No great surprise that Matt liked it with custard.  Now go and check out the TWD blogroll and see what the others thought.

8 responses to “TWD- Date-Nut Loaf

  1. Mine was dry too. But tasty. Yours looks very moist. I’m not sure about the cream cheese either, but since I love cream cheese I figured it would be good in it.

  2. The coloring on yours is the best I’ve seen. So pretty! I loved this loaf. So fun to use dates.

  3. How odd… mine was very moist and I thought that it was from the cream cheese! 🙂 Nice looking loaf, Andrea!

  4. Oh, sorry yours was dry! Looks beautiful anyways and sounds yummy with custard

  5. Mine was too perfect, I’ve eaten too much. i usually cook cakes less than dorie recommends. Cookies I need to cook longer. Crazy, delicious science of baking. Have a great day.

  6. I feel like the cream cheese kept my cake from being dry, but some still had a problem with that. I love dates so I really liked this recipe.

  7. the color looks rich and wonderful. nice job!

  8. It looks great! I used sour cream in place of the cc and it worked well.

Leave a Reply

