TWD- Rosy Poached Pear and Pistachio Tart- Catch Up

Back on December 1 2010– Lauren of I’ll Eat You– picked Rosy Poached Pear and Pistachio Tart, on pages 370 and 371 of BFMHTY by Dorie Greenspan.

I was moving house back then and missed the bake along.

So this is a tart with the lovely pate sucre base (sugar cookie for all intensive purposes) filled with pistachio custard topped with poached pears and some more caramalised pistachio nuts.

The custard was seriously thick  (even though I didn’t strain it) so I folded in 1/2 cup of whipped cream.  That loosened it up nicely.

I had purchased a tin of pears in raspberry juice- which sounded like a good sub for the wine poached pears.  Sadly, my junior members of the house saw the yummy pears and ate half of them whilst I was at work.  Hard to complain that your children have a fruit fetish.

My only downpoint for this is I made such a lovely short crust that it cracked and made a bit of a mess when I removed it from the tart tin. My serving plate had a little lip so the tart wasn’t kept perfectly flat- tactical error.

I do love the smell and flavour of pistachios.  They are a quietly assertive little nut.  Also a very big fan of the pistachio brittle.

Glad I got around to making this one.

Leave a Reply

