TWD- Honey Almond Cherry Tart

December 6, 2011 –For the second recipe this week Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table chose Honey Almond Fig Tart on page 373 of BFMHTY by Dorie Greenspan.

Ripe figs aren’t around in Darwin right now- although I have a few on my fig tree that will be ready in a month or so.  So I subbed in drained jarred morello cherries.  Nectarines may have been a better choice (with the honey) but cherries are my families favourite so I went with what I knew I could share.

The almond cream for this took AGES to set like 30 minutes more than the suggested.  Not sure what was up with that.  In the end the honey is quite a dominant flavour.  Mine was a bit dry every where but the centre.  I thought I would really like this one but in the end- not so much.  Not bad but just not fabulous.

Go and check what the other TWD bakers thought.

Leave a Reply

