TWD- Kids Thumbprints- Catch Up

Back for December 27, 2001 – Dorie herself chose Kids’ Thumbprints on page 163 of BFMHTY by Dorie Greenspan.

So my story runs like this.  I made the cookie dough on Christmas Eve.  I thought about baking them on Christmas day, but it was all a bit crazy.  (I also made the sour cream pecan biscuits and the chocolate crunched tart for Chrissie).  Anyway, after a lovely busy Christmas we all went to bed.  The next morning Matt noticed the back door to the garage was open.  We had 20 people in the house for Christmas Day so at that stage he didn’t really worry.  As the day wore on Matt couldn’t find his phone.  Then he noticed his passenger door was ajar in the car in the garage.  At this point the penny dropped.  While we slept in our beds someone came in our house and took things.

This evokes a lot of feelings even now.  All in all they took stuff and left my sleeping children (and us) alone.  This is what I try and focus on.  Stuff can be replaced but my babies are precious.

Anyway, one of the things they took was my camera.  I had been on a TWD finish it all off frenzy, all happily photographed waiting for the Christmas to New Years break when Matt and I both had time off.  So, when the camera went missing I just lost my mojo.

So much so, the cookie dough sat in the fridge until January 4.  And what a tactical error that was.  These cookies were enough to break my funk.  I didn’t roll them in chopped peanut but then the tasters got a surprise that the jam drop was in a peanut butter cookie.  My dough had become a bit dry in its longer than expected rest in the fridge.

These were fantastic.  Lurved them.  Gush, gush!  Sorry my little temper tantrum got in the way.  All my photos were taken from my iPhone. thankfully I had some process photos for some of my other bakes on the phone camera.  I will finish off my posts but the photos will be tres simple.

Leave a Reply

