TWD- Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart- Catch Up

For my second to last TWD post I did the catch up for- September 29 (I think 2009)- Carla of Chocolate Moosey chose Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart, pages 355-357 of BFMHTY.

I made this for our Christmas dinner dessert.  In terms of finishing strong this one will be hard to beat.  After my sadness with the soggy Normandy Tart pastry I melted some white chocolate in the base to seal it.  Probably not technically required but the tart kept an amazingly crisp crust.

I also found some cinnamon sugared nuts that were just lovely nestled in the caramel.  Everyone except my dad liked the dark chocolate ganache – too dark for dad- but for me anything else would have been sickly.

I will make this again when I have an adequate number of people coming around so I can share it.  Great recipe.

Now, I only have one recipe to go.  I am thinking I may try to make it gluten free (as practice for a friends upcoming birthday party).  I don’t have a lot of gluten free experience, but that is the great thing about cooking- always something new to learn.   Soon I will start with the Baking With Julia Bake along.   Wonder who will be baking along?

Leave a Reply

