TWD- Peppermint Cream Puff Ring

June 17, 2008 – Peppermint Crem Puff Ring, recipe found on pages 290-292 of BFMHTY.  This is my final recipe from the Baking From My Home To Yours bake along.

I have no fear of choux pastry.  I made 20 croquembouche for a friend wedding a couple of years ago.  After that I was a little choux-ed out I think.

Anyway, I am making the desserts for another friends birthday party which is coming up soon.  I had made her rum custard filled cream puffs a few years ago and they are still remembered fondly.  However this time out of the 25 or so guests coming 4 are gluten intolerant.  Could I tweak the recipe to work for gluten free.  Well the puffy little darlings above are gluten free baby!

I did quite a bit of reading on how to best go about the substitution.  Not sure how successful I would be I made a half batch.   I used White Wings GF flour and 1 extra egg white (for the half batch that was perfect).

To keep with the theme I filled them with Jeni’s Spendid Ice Cream recipe for Savanah Buttermint.  Yum Yum.  What a nice way to finish up!

Leave a Reply

