BWJ- Hungarian Shortbread

May 1, 2012 the very yummy pick for this week is Hungarian Shortbread hosted by Lynette of 1smallkitchen and Cher of The Not So Exciting Adventures of a Dabbler…

 I am glad I checked out the posts on this one.  I took the advice of the learned panel and baked the base on it’s own for 20 minutes before giving it a few minutes to cool before adding the rhubarb jam, then the rest of the shortbread crumble.
I also used the food processor to grate the frozen dough.  No way I could have worked fast enough with the box grater.
So all up I baked this for 20 min.  Cooled for 20 min added the toppings and then baked again for 35 min.  Even then my shortbread is only crisp on the very edges.
I liked this a lot.  So much so I brought it into the children’s after school care after me eating 4 pieces in rapid succession.  This needed to be shared or greed would get the better of me.  It does remind me of an Australian slice-  similar shortbread base topped with raspberry jam and a coconut chewy macaroon.  I might have to make both again soon.
6 responses to “BWJ- Hungarian Shortbread

  1. This was a delicious recipe. We all loved it!
    Next time I’ll have to use the food processor as well: it will save my fingers!
    All the best!

  2. …in rapid succession…hehe! The grater certainly worked my arm out quite a bit. Look lovely!

  3. haha, love that your photo makes it look like someone snuck a bite of this one! 🙂

  4. I’m sure the caregivers were happy to get these! We gobbled them up, too.

  5. The food processor was a very smart idea on this one. Grating the dough was a bit of a pain 🙂
    Your cookies look great. Thanks for baking along this week.

  6. I was lucky – my nieces thought grating the dough was the best part. I think I might choose the food processor when I make it on my own, though. This is definitely a recipe for sharing, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

