TWD- Dimply Cherry Cake

For this weeks TWD treat, Michelle of Bake-en selected, Dimply Plum Cake on page 41 of Baking From My Home To Yours By Dorie Greenspan.

I have written many times about being on the other side of the world to the other Dorie Bakers so alas, no stone fruit in season for me right now.  After high level negotiations with my good husband we decided to try the cherry with lime zest version.  I used pitted morello cherries in syrup.

This is the first cake I have over baked in a long time.  I did only bake the cake for 35 minutes. I am still getting used to my new oven (3rd times the charm right?) and I think the recipe depended a bit on leaching of juices from the stone fruit to make it super luscious.  The cake had a lovely taste and texture in the middle but the edges were, as I mentioned, a bit dry.  Day one and still warm from the oven was still quite good with a scoop of ice cream.  Day 2 required something extra.

I am lucky enough to have a Makrud or Kaffir lime in my garden.  It is not big enough yet to give me any of the super knarled fruit but the leaves finely chopped give a great lime hit to any dish.  I used some of the left over cherries in syrup thickened with just a teaspoon of corn flour and spiked with the kaffir lime chiffonade as a accompaniment.  Magic.

Life gives you slightly dry cake make cherry sauce I say! Now go check out the Tuesday’s With Dorie Blogroll and see what culinary adventures were had by the other Dorie Bakers.  Stay tuned for next weeks blow torch action!

13 responses to “TWD- Dimply Cherry Cake

  1. The cherry with lime variation sounds wonderful. And do realize that since it’s getting closer to summer for you, you can mess with all of us and pick something with berries in it – fresh berries 🙂

  2. I used some cherries that I had in the freezer with lime and I really enjoyed the cake. Some say it was better on the 2nd day, but we didn’t get the chance to find that out!

  3. Cherries and limes sound divine! The cake was better on the 2nd day, yes we still have some left!

  4. That must have been delicious with cherries! What I like best though is to know that the fruits were chosen after high level negociations with your hubby… who won? LOL LOL
    Great Job!

  5. ooh, that sounds so good! i’d never have thought of it, but it just sounds wonderful.

  6. Cherries! Hummmm! Looks tasty.

  7. Great idea to use cherries and limes! Good work!

  8. cherries and lime leaf sounds amazing!

  9. I’ll have to try the cherries and lime as it looks delicious!

  10. Love the cherry and lime combo! Everything looks yummy!

  11. Ooh, that cherry sauce sounds like something I could eat by the spoonful. Yum.

  12. Lovely! I found the cake a bit dry too. Cherry and lime leaf sauce, what a great way to make it work!

Leave a comment