TWD- Cranberry Upside- Downer

September 14, 2010– Sabrina of Superfluous chose Cranberry Upside-Downer on page 206 from Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

I made these in mind for my good husband.  He likes the clear cut nature of an individual serve.  So out came my 4 inch spring-form tins.  I cut 4 little rounds of parchment to ensure a stress free un-molding and dug out the bag of frozen cranberries I found at the store post Christmas.

This recipe is a winner.  The butter toffee base studded with nuts rocks.  Then you get a tart hit of fruit followed by a tender slightly spicy cake.  The boys covered theirs with custard.  I had mine plain.  We skipped the jelly glaze and loved it as it was.

Now go and check out the other upside down cakes out there.  I think there will be lots of different fruit subs to mix it up.

14 responses to “TWD- Cranberry Upside- Downer

  1. I went peach. Yours looks yummy!

  2. Love your LITTLE cakes. So cute.

  3. Looks great – love the individual serves.

  4. I must purchase those little pans. So cute and such a yummy dessert.

  5. I love that you used little cakes! So cute.

  6. Oh those little cakes are adorable. This recipe was so good. I will definitely be making it again.

  7. Beautiful.

    I ended up using pineapple, as I didn’t have cranberries or peaches.

  8. Adorable little cakes!

  9. Your one person cakes looks lovely!

  10. What a cute idea..and how sweet of you to do that for your husband! I made mine with cherries!!

  11. Perfect little baby cakes ~ way cute!
    So nice stopping by to visit with you!
    Kindly, ldh

  12. I didn’t get to it this week, but I can’t wait to give it a try! Looks wonderful.

  13. cute little pans – I need some of those now 🙂
    I did a White Peach version.

  14. I should have used my mini heart shaped springform pans. which would have made them easier to serve. how adorable yours are!

Leave a comment